Topic: Plot Developing
No members browsing this topic.

Page 1 of 1
(#1) posted on April 21, 2012. - 19:16
Zeke

Okay, so I've always wanted to give writing a shot but every time I try to write it's the same thing. I can always create the world in which they live in, come up with great characters, even come up with fantastic scenes in which the character act. However, I cannot come up with a general plot. Or rather, I cannot come up with any conflict that works within this world. In this topic, Im basically asking for help.

Recently, I've thinking of writing this internet series called Tales of Amedaria. Your basic fantasy and myth writing like Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, etc. The whole magic, dungeons and dragons mojo. I know, it's been done a million times but hey, I'm no professional and I do this for fun.

The basic plot is that in every country, it is filled with Guilds that sort of act as military branches during times of war. A teenager named Ballad is determined to follow in his father's footsteps and become a Guild Mercenary. His father, Forte, is against this despite Forte being the leader of the guild R.A.V.E. One day, Ballad walks around his city late at night after arguing with his father about joining a guild. He then discovers a mysterious man and is attacked by a violent creature called a Cretin. He is then saved by a white-haired man, who gives him a sword.

And that's where I'm stuck. I want to involve the Cretin's in some way similar to Heartless in Kingdom Hearts, or Hollows in Bleach, or the Darkspawn from Dragon Age. However, I can't think of any plot that would involve them.